rileysyear

A year in the life of our Miss Riley

Sleep, or Lack Thereof

on November 5, 2014

Or at least on my part.

Over time, I’ve noticed more and more about Riley that screams “old lady dog things,” which is, of course, one of the reasons I started on this project in the first place. Sometimes, it’s less a noticing of a thing here or there and more of a flood.

Last night, she woke me several times in the night with horking. Each time, I got up to see to her, tried to get her to drink some, figuring water could get whatever was bothering her to shift (pretty sure it was hair — hers or mine, not sure which). She’d settle back down, I’d go back to bed, and just as I was right on that beautiful edge of sleep, she’d start up again.

In the morning, she was sleeping peacefully. I was jealous as all get out.

110514

She went out, and everything seemed fine. Came back in, and horked up some bile in the hallway. I don’t know if it was irritation leftover from whatever that was last night, but it was decidedly unpleasant.

Then she was fine, demanding food, going to her usual spot for a snooze, getting up at the normal times to request to go out.

Everyone knows that puppies can be detrimental on sleep until they are trained. But if you’ve never had a senior dog before (and I haven’t), there’s so much you need to take into account. For instance, did you know that senior dogs, especially those with arthritis in their hind end, can have something called fecal incontinence? To adjust for this, we keep Riley out for her final “business trip” until she does both numbers.

Tonight, I didn’t get that chance. I was watching Arrow and she was asleep, on her side. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw her tail lift. Yep, she pooped in her sleep. She didn’t seem any happier about it than I was, poor puppy.

So: midnight horking, a little unpleasant yarfing, and sleep pooping. They say bad things come in threes. Please let this mean we’ve had our trifecta. Princess Miss Riley’s dignity demands it.

Leave a Reply

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

casita~by~the~sea

life with that sweet salt air

Dally and Dogs!

Dog training, hiking & my pets

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

Problems With Infinity

Confessions of a Delusional Maniac

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Big Dog in the Big Land

adventures with a newfoundland dog

The Adventures of Sawyer

Daily adventures of Sawyer, the Jack Russell Terrier

Sleepie Lemonpie

Thanks for lookin' in on me while I take lots of naps!

A Dog Called Storm

He's Storm. He's a dog. How difficult do you want to make it?

The Corner Blog

The Corner Blog

36 views of Black Mountain

Observing life through writing

Rumpydog

Dog paddling through life...

jaspersdoggyworld

Adventures of a Maremma dog

The Dante Diaries

HER life from my point of view

